IAGG-ER Award for Emergent Scholars in Ageing Research

  1. The International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics, European Region (IAGG-ER) awards to excellent emergent scholars in ageing research the “European Award for Emergent Scholars in Ageing Research”. The award comes with a certificate and a prize money of 2,000 Euro. In addition, IAGG-ER covers cost for travel, accommodation and conference fees up to 1,000 Euro.

  2. The award can be given to emergent scholars in the biological, clinical or socio-behavioral section. Potential awardees should have advanced the field of ageing research substantially. Nominees’ Ph.D. should date back no more than ten years before the day of the award ceremony (essential is the date of the Ph.D. certificate). Nominees should have completed their Ph.D. at an European university or research institution, or the nominee’s current employer during the time of the nomination should be an European university or research institution.

  3. Self-nomination is permissible. The material to be submitted consists of (a) a Curriculum Vitae (scientific training, former and current positions, list of publications and presentation, other relevant information; max. 10 pages) and (b) three selected journal publications. Nominations should be supported by two letters of reference.

  4. The award will be presented every four years at the European Congress of Gerontology and Geriatrics, starting in Gothenburg, Sweden, in 2019. Date of the Award Ceremony is 23rd May 2019. The awardee will be invited to give a short presentation about her/his research at the congress (about 15 minutes).

  5. The award committee consists of the executive committee of IAGG-ER. In case of equality of votes, the vote of the president is decisive.

  6. Nominations have to be sent to the President of IAGG-ER (until 2019: Clemens Tesch-Roemer, ctr@dza.de) or the Secretary of IAGG-ER (until 2019: Boo Johansson). Deadline for nominations is November, 2018.


  - Call starts: 01st June 2018

  - Call ends: 30st November 2018

  - Decision made: 28st February 2019

  - Award presented and acceptance speech delivered during the next IAGG-ER European Congress in

    Gothenburg (23rd-25th May 2019)